h1

Mapping out Storage Expo

October 12, 2007

After a quiet time blog-wise, as the team has been busy getting ready for the melee next week, what better way to blog again, than with an end user perspective of Storage Expo. Dave Lipsey, Infrastructure Manager at Ordnance Survey has kindly shared some thoughts with Launchpad Europe:

Q -Tell us a little bit about you:

Scottish, worked in London for 25 years, now living in Bournemouth, I play league table tennis for a local club, listen to world music, have a wonderful Canadian wife who bakes, makes jam and rides a Ducati

Q – Tell us a little bit about your company, your role there and your interest in storage:

I work for Ordnance Survey as Infrastructure Manager, we are a unique 200 year old organisation held in highest respect by the worlds mapmakers. I often say I have a very interesting Infrastructure Management job

Q – What’s hot in storage right now?

Deduplication and compression

Q – How many Storage Expos have you been to?

Lost count, maybe 5

Q – This year is Storage Expo better than ever or is it like some shows in decline?

I am sure that with all the new products and innovation on display, its on the up.

Q- What are you up to at the show?

Am doing a keynote on Thursday at 1.15, I am on the Deal or No deal session and am doing a podcast.

In between times I will see some colleagues and friends.

If you see me, feel free to offer me a drink.

Q – What types of stories or companies are likely to attract your attention this Storage Expo?

Innovative products what I can see a use for in Ordnance Survey in the next year. Last year it was Datadomain. It’s now implemented and we are very happy with it.

The year before it was the archiving solution of Bridgehead Software and UDO 50 year technology from Plasmon

Q – When do you start planning your diary at Storage Expo?

July, then it all becomes irrelevant when I step in to the hall on Wednesday.

Q – Who is worth listening to?

Besides me???

Q – What’s your favourite blog ?

No preference.

Q – What is your favourite piece of technology?

My home X10 network remote control. I can dim lights and switch on fountains with it!!

Q – What do you think is the most important development in storage networking to date? 

Deduplication will have a big impact for those with very large SANs to maintain

Q – What is the best piece of advice for exhibitors at Storage Expo?

Have a simple message and don’t look over my shoulder when you are talking to me!

=========

Well, we’ll be catch up with Dave for a dram and hopefully seeing what has caught his eye at the show!

 

Leave a Reply

